Looking at the 13th Doctor Reveal

13th Doctor

A rare non-review blog! I just thought I’d get my immediate reaction to the reveal that Jodie Whittaker will be playing Doctor number 13…

I’m not one of those people who were against a female Doctor, all I want is someone who can play The Doctor well, regardless of race or gender, but no matter which side of the fence you sit, you have to applaud all involved as it’s a risky strategy. A good chunk of Doctor Who’s audience are kids, and among them I’d wager the majority are boys. Boys tend not to like female leads, preferring to pretend to play the lead hero and run around as them, and they’re too young to have grown up from the old “girls are icky”, a phase most, if not all, boys go through. That being said, Star Wars hasn’t been hurt by Episode VII’s lead being female, so maybe I’m just relating my early 90s childhood and not realising how things have changed.

Either way, it’ll be interesting to see, that’s for sure! Jodie has a tough job ahead of her, but Chris Chibnall is the one who has the task of writing a female Doctor and keeping her as just another incarnation of The Doctor rather than, say, over-sexualising her, or having her all wink-wink, nudge-nudge sex references like most of Moffat’s female characters.

I look forward to seeing the end results, and I’m thrilled to now be in the position to cover the first female Doctor, from the very start to the end.

Leave a Reply

